The ‘African Medicines Agency Countdown’
AMA Countdown – status as of 11 October 2022

Thirty-three of the African Union’s 55 member states have now signed and/or ratified the African Medicines Agency Treaty, as of 11 October 2022, with Lesotho and Mozambique as the latest to swing behind the treaty.

As the countdown for other nations to sign continues, Health Policy Watch is tracking progress on our AMA Countdown, website developed in collaboration with the African Medicines Agency Treaty Alliance.  Here you can find the latest data on who has signed the treaty, ratified the treaty – and who is yet to sign – as well as links to sources and resources related to the African Medicines Agency Treaty process:

Multimedia available for download:

Find up-to-date infographics describing what countries have signed, signed and ratified, and signed, ratified and deposited the AMA treaty – in .png and interactive formats available for embed or download.

AMA Countdown – status as of 11 October 2022

African Union FAQs on the AMA Treaty

Click to access 41269-doc-AMA_FAQs_rev.pdf

Official African Union infographic repository

Multilingual links to the AMA Treaty: 

The AMA Treaty in English:

The AMA Treaty in French:

The AMA Treaty in Arabic:

The AMA Treaty in Portuguese:

African Medicines Agency Treaty Alliance:

AMATA joint statement, 5 November 2021, at the time that the AMA Treaty came into force.

Combat the infodemic in health information and support health policy reporting from the global South. Our growing network of journalists in Africa, Asia, Geneva and New York connect the dots between regional realities and the big global debates, with evidence-based, open access news and analysis. To make a personal or organisational contribution click here on PayPal.